反贿赂政策

2020年11月12日更新

Superior Essex Inc.致力于以最高的道德和法律标准行事,并遵守适用于我们业务的所有法律,法规和规章。该承诺适用于Superior Essex Inc.及其全球的子公司和关联公司(“公司”)。

该反贿赂政策描述了公司禁止贿赂的道德标准,并提供了遵守适用的反贿赂法律的指南,包括但不限于《美国反海外腐败法》和《 2010年英国反贿赂法》。

一世。  法律和公司政策概述

 一种。 法律概述

美国和我们运营所在的其他国家/地区的法律禁止提供,承诺,给予,授权或要求或收受贿赂。这些法律将贿赂定义为直接或间接支付“有价物”,目的是不当影响接收者或获得或保留业务或竞争优势。有价物品的定义很笼统,包括金钱以及收款人希望得到的任何东西,包括(但不限于)礼品卡和其他现金等价物,礼物,旅行,款待,住宿,慈善和政治捐赠,商机,以及家庭成员的实习机会。贿赂没有最低限额的例外。 

公司还受到美国和其他国家/地区的法律的约束,特别禁止贿赂任何政府官员,尤其是在付款旨在影响官员行为,赢得或保留业务的决定或获得任何其他业务优势的情况下。 “政府官员”包括任何政府或其任何部门,机构或其机构的官员或雇员,世界任何地方的任何国有企业以及任何公共国际组织(例如联合国或世界银行),以及政党和选举或任命的代表,以及代表的上述任何物质的任何人。该术语包括低级雇员或政府控制实体的雇员。术语“政府官员”还包括政党官员或政治职务候选人。了解与您打交道的人是否是政府官员是您的责任。

b。反贿赂政策

公司禁止任何高级管理人员,员工或代表直接或间接提供,承诺,授权或提供贿赂,无论涉及公司业务使用公司资金还是个人或第三方资金。任何贿赂的要求都会被拒绝。最后,公司的任何高级管理人员,董事或员工都不会要求,同意接受或接受任何贿赂。

违反本政策可能会导致纪律处分,包括终止雇用,以及根据适用法律的刑事和民事处罚。

C。政府官员

我们所在的美国和其他国家/地区的法律明确禁止贿赂政府官员。请记住,政府官员甚至可以包括政府或国有企业的低级雇员,以及政党官员和候选人。了解与您打交道的人是否是政府官员是您的责任。

以下是不应向政府官员付款的示例:

  • 不当避免或减少罚款或税款的付款
  • 不正当地获得许可,许可证或任何其他有利的监管或司法裁定的付款
  • 支付给政府检查员的费用,以忽略任何违反健康和安全法规的情况
  • 影响授予政府合同的款项
  • 用以获取有关商机或竞争对手活动的机密信息的付款
  • 不正当地获得打开或关闭设施的权利的付款

公司禁止提供疏通费,疏通费通常是向政府官员支付的非正式非官方款项,以确保或加快政府官员的日常,非支配职责或行动的正常执行。但是,在某些情况下,可能会因对人身健康或安全的迫在眉睫的威胁而支付本政策另外禁止的付款。如果您认为需要付款,则必须事先获得公司首席财务官和法务部的书面批准,除非情况允许。如果情况不允许事先书面批准,则此后必须尽快将付款报告给公司的首席财务官和法务部。

公司已经采用了批准和报告的政策和程序,这些政策和程序适用于适用法律允许的政府官员的礼物,旅行和娱乐活动。根据这些政策和程序,必须事先获得政府官员的任何礼物,旅行或款待的特定批准。可以从法务部获得批准和报告程序的详细摘要。

通常,在确定外国政府官员的任何礼物或招待的适当性时,请记住以下几点:

  • 在这种情况下,给外国政府官员的礼物和招待必须合理,习惯和有品味。 
  • 必须出于真诚和合法的商业目的提供这些信息,并且不得出于不当影响外国官员的愿望或对等的期望而产生动机。 
  • 无论当地风俗如何,都不允许向政府官员赠送现金或现金等价物(如礼品卡)。
  • 禁止为外国官员的家人提供礼物和招待。


如果对是否允许外国政府官员提供礼物,旅行或娱乐费用有任何疑问,请联系法务部。请记住,所有用于支付给政府官员的礼物和招待的支出必须事先获得法务部或您的业务部门负责人的批准,并正确记录在公司的账簿和记录中。还必须每季度向公司的首席财务官和公司财务总监报告一次。


d。其他业务关系

与客户,供应商和供应商交换合理的礼物,餐食和娱乐活动,或者参加可能包括餐食,旅行或娱乐活动的计划和活动,通常是公司的最大利益。在某些国际商业交易中,东道国的商业领袖提供礼物可能是习惯和合法的,而返还礼物可能是对送礼者的冒犯。但是,适用法律可能会禁止不正当的礼物,旅行和娱乐活动,即使是在私人团体之间也是如此。

本政策允许向非政府官员的客户,供应商和供应商提供礼物,餐食和招待,但前提是在这种情况下这些礼物,饮食和招待是合理的,相称的和习惯的,并且真诚地交换且互不期望出于合法的商业目的,并根据当地普遍的习俗,并遵守适用法律。

以下准则旨在帮助您避免私人团体之间不正当或非法交换礼物,旅行和娱乐活动:

  • 任何希望影响您以特殊方式从事上级埃塞克斯业务的动机所产生的礼物都是一种贿赂,无论其价值如何,均不应被接受。同样,您绝不能直接或间接地提供,承诺,授权或做出付款或礼物来获取,保留或指导业务。
  • 切勿接受现金,现金等价物或股票作为礼物。 
  • 在考虑任何礼物的价值或频率时要运用常识。对客户和供应商在接收礼物和款待方面的规则保持敏感。
  • 如果性质合理,则应提供正常的商务娱乐活动,例如午餐,晚餐,剧院,体育赛事等,其目的是进行业务讨论或增进业务关系,并且需要业务部门或部门的批准,并符合公司的差旅和娱乐报销政策。但是,不适合接受来自客户,供应商或其他外部方的要约或要约以支付娱乐,个人使用或赞助活动的酒店或旅行费用。 
  • 仅出于商业目的而支付差旅费是可以接受的,但前提是必须得到您的业务部门或公司职能部门负责人的批准。

如果您对来自或来自非政府官员的任何礼物的价值或频率有任何疑问,则应立即将其退回,或与您的经理讨论该礼物是否可以由公司使用,捐赠给慈善机构,分配给慈善机构或将其分配给他人。在公司内部共享。如果您对礼物是否会被视为利益冲突有任何疑问,即使您不认为礼物违反了我们的政策,也应通知您的经理。 

e。慈善捐助

由于慈善捐款在某些情况下会引起人们的关注,因此,对美国境外组织的所有慈善捐款必须事先得到您的业务部门负责人的批准,否则必须遵守公司的批准和报告政策与程序。

F。政治贡献

由于政治捐款可能会在某些情况下引起关注,因此所有政治捐款必须事先获得法务部的批准,并且必须遵守公司的批准和报告政策及程序。

二。公司中介人

公司对道德和禁止贿赂的承诺适用于代表公司行事的第三方,例如销售代理,分销商,顾问和其他承包商。根据本政策,您不能使用他人间接做某事,而您不能直接做某事。在某些情况下,如果我们参与或批准中介人的不当行为,或者意识到中介人代表公司的行为很可能违反反贿赂法律,则公司及其员工可能会因中介人的不当行为而承担责任。 。因此,公司必须采取步骤以确保只有合格且可信赖的中介机构可以代表我们开展工作。

A.第三方付款的筛选要求

为了避免潜在的问题,在与他们进行任何业务之前,员工必须仔细查看并收集有关销售代理商和分销商,顾问和其他承包商的信息,这一点很重要。员工在与他们建立合同关系之前,应遵循公司准则收集有关潜在销售代理商,分销商和顾问的信息。这些准则可能包括收集有关中介机构实益所有权的信息,确定与政府或政府官员之间是否存在任何个人或专业联系,验证信息并获得参考,并向他们提供本政策和Superior Essex Inc.的副本。供应商行为准则,并确保与他们的书面协议包含反贿赂合规性条款。在付款之前,应仔细检查中介机构提交的所有发票是否有警告标志。

b。红旗指标

公司已开发出高风险配置文件,以筛选中介机构的潜在问题。有一些“危险信号”表明应仔细检查交易或关系: 

  • 中介机构与政府官员有家庭或业务联系
  • 中介机构坚持不披露与公司的关系
  • 政府官员推荐中介人
  • 与持续费率相比,关系涉及过多的佣金
  • 不正常的付款方式或财务安排
  • 中介机构要求在第三国或以非常规或令人费解的方式付款
  • 开具发票或未记录费用
  • 最后一刻要求更多的钱
  • 在一个腐败历史悠久或容易受贿的国家/地区付款
  • 中介机构要求对“承兑人”或“现金”进行支票,或要求以现金或其他匿名形式付款
  • 中介提出不寻常的请求,例如回溯日期或更改发票的请求
  • 中介的业务似乎缺乏足够的人员来执行所提供的服务
  • 中介在商业社区中的声誉很差
  • 中介机构拒绝证明遵守适用的反贿赂法律。
  • 如果与政府官员有潜在关系,则请求慈善捐款

参与国际交易的员工应了解高风险状况的要素,并使用它们来帮助确定反贿赂问题。出现“危险信号”指示器时,您有责任调查所有可疑情况,并告知法务部以进一步指导操作。 

C。合同批准

与分销商,销售代理商和其他中介机构的合同的审查和批准必须遵守公司的合同审查政策。

想要查询更多的信息

如果您对本政策,其在特定情况下的适用性有疑问,或者您认为有可能违反本政策,请通过[email protected]或+1(770)657-6485与法律总顾问联系。或者,您可以使用公司的匿名报告系统匿名提出任何问题。任何知道或怀疑可能违反本政策的员工都有义务大声说出来并报告问题。您应该放心地讨论和报告合法问题,而不必担心受到报复。真诚地举报涉嫌违反法律或政策的员工,参与与潜在不当行为有关的调查或拒绝违反本政策的员工,不会因此受到任何不利后果。

点击您希望分享此内容的以下平台。感谢分享!

Antibribery Policy

Updated Nov. 12, 2020

Superior Essex Inc. is committed to acting with the highest ethical and legal standards and complying with all laws, rules and regulations that apply to our business.  This commitment applies to Superior Essex Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliated companies throughout the world (the “Company”).

This Anti-Bribery Policy describes the Company’s ethical standards which prohibit bribes and provides guidelines for complying with applicable anti-bribery laws, including but not limited to the U.S. Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and the U.K. Bribery Act 2010.

I.  Overview of the Law and Company Policy

 a. Overview of the Law

The United States and other countries in which we operate have laws prohibiting the offering, promising, giving, authorization, or requesting or receipt, of a bribe.  These laws define bribery as the payment, directly or indirectly, of a “thing of value” with the intent to improperly influence the recipient or to obtain or retain a business or competitive advantage.  A thing of value is broadly defined and includes money as well as also anything the recipient would find desirable, including (but not limited to) gift cards and other cash equivalents, gifts, travel, hospitality, lodging, charitable and political donations, business opportunities, and internships for family members.  There is no minimum amount exception for bribes. 

The Company is also subject to laws in the United States and other countries that specifically forbid bribes to any government official, particularly when the payment is intended to influence an official act, a decision to win or retain business, or obtain any other business advantage.  “Government officials” include officers or employees of any government or any department, agency, or instrumentality thereof, any state-owned enterprise anywhere in the world, and any public international organization (such as the United Nations or World Bank), as well as political parties and elected or appointed representatives, and anyone acting on behalf of any of the foregoing.  The term includes low ranking employees or employees of government-controlled entities.  The term “government official” also includes political party officials or candidates for political office.  It is your responsibility to understand whether someone you deal with is a government official.

b. Anti-Bribery Policy

The Company prohibits any officer, employee or representative from offering, promising, authorizing or providing a bribe, directly or indirectly—regardless of whether it involves the use of Company funds or personal or third-party funds in relation to Company business.  Any demand for a bribe will be rejected.  Finally, no officer, director or employee of the Company will request, agree to accept, or accept any bribe.

Violation of this Policy may result in disciplinary action, including termination of your employment, as well as criminal and civil penalties under applicable law.

c. Government Officials

The United States and other countries in which we operate have laws that specifically prohibit bribes to government officials.  Remember that government officials can include even low ranking employees of governments or state-owned enterprises, as well as political party officials and candidates.  It is your responsibility to understand whether someone you deal with is a government official.

The following are examples of payments which should never be made to government officials:

  • A payment to improperly avoid or reduce a fine or a tax
  • A payment to improperly obtain a license, a permit or any other favorable regulatory or judicial ruling
  • A payment to a government inspector to ignore any violation of health and safety regulations
  • A payment to influence the award of a government contract
  • A payment to obtain confidential information about business opportunities or about the activities of competitors
  • A payment to improperly obtain the right to open or close a facility

The Company prohibits facilitating payments, which usually are small, unofficial payments to a government official to ensure or speed the proper performance of a government official’s routine, non-discretionary duties or actions. However, there may be situations in which a payment otherwise prohibited by this Policy may be made in response to an imminent threat to a person’s physical health or safety.  If you think you need to make such a payment, you must obtain prior written approval from the Company’s Chief Financial Officer and the Legal Department, unless the circumstances make this impossible.  If the situation does not allow time for prior written approval, the payment must be reported to the Company’s Chief Financial Officer and the Legal Department as soon as possible thereafter.

The Company has adopted approval and reporting policies and procedures which apply to gifts, travel and entertainment for government officials that may be allowed under applicable law.  Under these policies and procedures, specific approvals must be obtained in advance regarding any gift, travel or entertainment of government officials.  A detailed Summary of the Approvals and Reporting Procedures can be obtained from the Legal Department.

As a general rule, in determining the appropriateness of any gift or entertainment of foreign government officials, please keep in mind the following:

  • Gifts and entertainment for foreign government officials must be reasonable, customary and tasteful under the circumstances. 
  • They must be provided in good faith and for a legitimate business purpose, and not be motivated by a desire to influence the foreign official inappropriately or by any expectation of reciprocity. 
  • Gifts of cash or cash-equivalents (such as gift cards) to government officials are never allowed, regardless of local customs.
  • Gifts and entertainment for members of a foreign official’s family are never allowed.


If you have any questions about whether gifts, travel or entertainment expenses for foreign government officials are allowed, please contact the Legal Department.  Remember that all expenses for gifts and entertainment payments to government officials must have advance approval by the Legal Department or the head of your business unit, and be properly recorded on the Company’s books and records.  They must also be reported on a quarterly basis to the Company’s Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Controller.


d. Other Business Relationships

It is often customary and in the Company’s best interest to exchange reasonable gifts, meals and entertainment with customers, suppliers and vendors, or to take part in programs and events that may include meals, travel or entertainment.  In some international business transactions, it may be customary and lawful for business leaders in a host country to provide gifts, and returning the gifts may be an affront to the giver.  However, improper gifts, travel and entertainment, even among private parties, may be prohibited under applicable law.

Gifts, meals and entertainment for customers, suppliers and vendors who are not government officials are allowed under this Policy, so long as they are reasonable, proportionate and customary under the circumstances and are exchanged in good faith, without an expectation of reciprocity, in connection with a legitimate business purpose and based on prevailing local customs, and in accordance with applicable law.

The following guidelines are designed to help you avoid any improper or illegal exchange of gifts, travel and entertainment among private parties:

  • Any gift motivated by a desire to influence you to act in a particular manner with regard to Superior Essex business is a bribe and should never be accepted, regardless of value.  Similarly, you must never offer, promise, authorize or make, directly or indirectly, a payment or gift to obtain, retain or direct business.
  • Cash, cash equivalents or stock should never be accepted or given as a gift. 
  • Use common sense in considering the value or the frequency of any gifts.  Be sensitive to our customers’ and suppliers’ own rules on receiving gifts and entertainment.
  • Normal business entertainment such as lunch, dinner, theater, a sporting event and the like is appropriate if it is reasonable in nature, is provided for the purpose of holding business discussions or fostering better business relations, and has required business unit or department approvals, and complies with the Company’s travel and entertainment reimbursement policies.  However, it is not appropriate to accept an offer from, or make an offer to, a customer, supplier or other outside party to pay for hotel or travel expenses for entertainment, personal use or sponsored events. 
  • Payment for travel expenses solely for business purposes may be acceptable, but only if approved by the head of your business unit or corporate function.

If you have any concerns about the value or the frequency of any gift from or to a non-government official, you should either return it at once or discuss with your manager whether it can be used by the Company, contributed to charity or distributed or shared within the Company.  You should inform your manager when you have any question about whether a gift could be perceived as a conflict of interest, even if you don’t believe it otherwise violates our Policy. 

e. Charitable Contributions

Because charitable contributions can raise concerns under certain circumstances, all charitable contributions to organizations outside the United States must be approved in advance by the head of your business unit and must otherwise comply with the Company’s approval and reporting policies and procedures.

f. Political Contributions

Because political contributions can raise concerns under certain circumstances, all political contributions must be approved in advance by the Legal Department and must otherwise comply with the Company’s approval and reporting policies and procedures.

II.  Company Intermediaries

The Company’s commitment to ethics and ban on bribes applies to third parties acting on behalf of the Company such as sales agents, distributors, consultants and other contractors.  You cannot use others to do something indirectly that you are not allowed to do directly under this Policy.  Under certain circumstances the Company and its employee can face liability based on the improper conduct of intermediaries if we participate in or approve of an intermediary’s improper conduct or are aware of a high probability that an intermediary’s actions on the Company’s behalf may violate anti-bribery laws.  The Company therefore must take steps to ensure that only qualified and trustworthy intermediaries are engaged to work on our behalf.

a. Screening Requirements for Third-party Payments

To avoid potential issues, it is important that employees carefully review and gather information regarding sales agents and distributors, consultants and other contractors prior to transacting any business with them.  Employees should follow Company guidelines for gathering information regarding potential sales agents, distributors and consultants prior to entering into a contractual relationship with them.  These guidelines may include gathering information regarding the beneficial ownership of the intermediaries, determining if there are any personal or professional ties to a government or government official, verifying information and obtaining references, providing them with a copy of this Policy and the Superior Essex Inc. Supplier Code of Conduct and ensuring that written agreements with them contain anti-bribery compliance provisions.  All invoices submitted by the intermediaries should be reviewed carefully for warning signs before payment.

b. Red Flag Indicators

The Company has developed a high risk profile to screen for potential issues with intermediaries.  There are certain “Red Flags” that indicate the transaction or relationship should be scrutinized: 

  • Intermediary has family or business ties with a government official
  • Intermediary insists on nondisclosure of their relationship with the Company
  • Intermediary is recommended by a government official
  • Relationship involves excessive commissions compared to going rate
  • Unusual payment patterns or financial arrangements
  • Intermediary asks for payment in third countries or by unorthodox or convoluted means
  • Over-invoicing or undocumented expenses
  • Last-minute requests for more money
  • Payment is being made in a country with a widespread history of corruption or prone to bribery
  • Intermediary requests checks to be made out to “bearer” or “cash” or requests payment to be made in cash or some other anonymous form
  • Intermediary makes unusual requests, such as requests to backdate or alter invoices
  • Intermediary’s business seems to lack sufficient staff to perform services offered
  • Intermediary has a bad reputation in the business community
  • Intermediary resists certifying compliance with applicable anti-bribery laws.
  • A request is made for a charitable contribution where there is a potential tie to a government official

Employees involved in international transactions should know the elements of the high risk profile and use them to help identify anti-bribery issues.  When “Red Flag” indicators are raised, you have a duty to investigate all suspicious circumstances and inform the Legal Department for further guidance on how to proceed. 

c. Approval of Contracts

The review and approval of contracts with distributors, sales agents and other intermediaries must comply with the Company’s Contract Review Policy.

For More Information

If you have a question about this Policy, its application to a particular situation, or if you believe there has been a potential violation of the Policy, please contact General Counsel at compliance@spsx.com or +1 (770) 657-6485.  Alternatively, you may use the Company’s Anonymous Reporting System to raise any issue or concern anonymously.  Any employee who knows or suspects that this Policy may have been violated has an obligation to speak up and report the concern as soon as possible.  You should feel comfortable discussing and reporting legitimate concerns without fear of retaliation.  Employees who, in good faith, report suspected legal or Policy violations, who participate in an investigation related to potential misconduct, or who refuse to violate this Policy, will not suffer any adverse consequence for doing so.

Click the platform below that you would like to share this on. Thanks for sharing!